Hello all, I'm Gabe ("1st year" uni student)

Hey all,

I’m Gabe, I’m an Engineering/Astro student in Sydney at Macquarie with an interest in planetary science and engineering. I say “1st year”, but it’s complicated, but that’s where my skill level mostly is. I found out about PANOPTES through the university’s Observatory program and got to know Wilfred by helping out with outreach.

I’ve spoken a bunch to Wilfred and helped set up his PAN008 unit, I’m keen to get involved! I’m relatively new to my degree and don’t really know what I want to do yet, but most likely for this project I’d like to get involved in the software/data side as well as outreach. I’ve been an observatory guide for at least a year now.

I think for now I’ll try and immerse myself more in the project’s workings in my free time and check out the files/data, but if members can suggest tasks for a relative newbie, I’m more than happy to throw myself at it and see if I enjoy it. Looking forward to helping out!

Cheers, Gabe.

2 Likes

Hey Gabe,

In addition to all the projects we talked about last Friday, there are some software specific issues listed under “good first issue” on github.

In particular, if you are wanting to learn some Python and start to get familiar with the code there are two things I would recommend:

• Move pointing logic out of state: this is sort of a cut-and-paste job but would also involve making sure the tests still work, etc. Probably a really good first issue as you would first have to get familiar with cloning the repos, running the tests, etc.
  • Hardware modifications log: This is a little stand-alone project that we haven’t fully defined but do need. Basically any time we make changes to a unit we want to log it so that we can refer to it later. This can start out as a simple command-line interface but would also eventually be incorporated into the administrative web interface (PAWS). Basically just need a datetime stamp, a user, and a log message to start.