Scheduler Updates

hi @james.synge could you just link the github repos where the current scheduler is situated so I can have a quick run through of the particular code base and ideally how should one go about to beginning contributing like should one dive straight into prototyping the project or begin with bugs etc?

cheers!

Hi! I am Nikhil, I am currently studying in 3rd year in IIIT Hyderabad(B. Tech Computer science), India. I am interested in the project ’ Scheduler Updates’ as it involves application of GCP and cloud functions.

I have had used cloud functions, just for practise, to deploy and test some web-app. Really excited to get some hands-on experience via this project.

I guess this is the link to the current scheduler https://github.com/panoptes/POCS/tree/develop/pocs/scheduler
And this is repo to host the various GCP techonologies:
https://github.com/panoptes/panoptes-network

Nikhil, that’s exactly right.

Aditya,

Coming back to your question about how to get started, let’s look at the current approach: each unit (robotic observatory) has the POCS software installed, which includes a small file of targets; for each target there is a names, a location in J2000 coordinates, and a priority (there are other attributes, see here for an example). POCS uses astroplan to determine where each target is relative to the location of the unit (which might actually be on the other side of the Earth, so not visible), what angle it will be at relative to the horizon, etc., and uses these to decide on the target for which we can get the best images. For example, a target that will be low in the sky isn’t as good as one that will go straight overhead because there will be less air to look through for the latter (lower “air mass”), so there will be less extinction and likely the stars will suffer less twinkling (also called scintillation).